Reform Announcement

Posted on: Thursday, 23 October 2014

The Premier and the Minister for Local Government have announced the Government's response to the Local Government Advisory Board’s (LGAB) recommendations relating to Metropolitan Local Government Reform.

The State Government has accepted all but two of the LGAB’s recommendations which will result in the following Local Governments being joined by boundary adjustments:

  • City of Swan and Shire of Mundaring to form City of Swan
  • City of Bayswater and Town of Bassendean to form City of Bayswater
  • City of Belmont and Shire of Kalamunda to form City of Belmont
  • Town of Cambridge and City of Subiaco to form City of Subiaco
  • City of Armadale and the north of the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale to form City of Armadale
  • Shire of Murray and the south of the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale to form Shire of Murray
  • City of Gosnells and City of Canning to form City of Gosnells
  • A modified City of Stirling
  • A modified City of Melville

 The following Local Governments will be amalgamated:

  • City of South Perth and Town of Victoria Park to form City of South Park
  • City of Fremantle and Town of East Fremantle to form City of Fremantle
  • City of Kwinana and City of Cockburn to form City of Jervoise Bay

The Government rejected the LGAB’s recommendation for an amalgamation of the City of Perth and the City of Vincent and has instead foreshadowed the introduction of a City of Perth Act to Parliament in 2015 to enlarge the boundaries and powers of the City of Perth.

The Government has also rejected the LGAB’s recommendation for the City of Nedlands, Towns of Claremont, Cottesloe and Mosman Park and Shire of Peppermint Grove to be amalgamated to form the City of Riversea but has foreshadowed that it will take steps to implement this proposal in the future.

Full details of the announcement is available from the Metropolitan Local Government Reform website and the Minister for Local Government will provide further details and information regarding funding to the Local Government sector on Wednesday, 29 October.


Back to Search Results